Road Kill Field Dressing Muncjac Deer

So we were on our way back from a family day out with my wife Rhoda and 4 children to an indoor play barn when I saw an opportunity on the road I could not pass up. A recently killed Muncjac Deer. I decided to pull over walk up to  the deer and check it out for a potential practice, video for YouTube and also to add something different to our dinner table.

IMG_20180128_162805_263

After getting home I put the kids to bed and then headed out to a local wood in Norfolk to carry out a field dressing of the deer. This was because I had forgotten to repack my bushcraft knife back into my car after a recent lesson at a Primary School of knife safety.

It was now 2130hrs so I set up a flood light and began to dress the deer to my then shock, it was pregnant and properly about ready to give birth. This did however shock be slightly as I was not expecting to see this, but I prevailed and continued with the task in hand, dressing the deer whilst commentating for my YouTube channel as any wannabe professional.

The deer is now back at home ready for the butchery process to see what cuts I can get off it and freeze for a nice evening BBQ when it gets a bit warmer.

Too see the video please go to my YouTube Channel link below.

 

Leave a comment